Compete With Oneself – The 52 Day Challenge

February 26, 2008 at 2:55 pm 4 comments

I remember Sri Sri Ravi Shankar telling me, “Competing with others is arrogance; competing with yourself is confidence!”   These words on Vikramji’s Blog instantly struck a chord ( His blog is also music to my ears) .

These words made me wonder – “What does competing with oneself entail?” What came to me was the simple yet profound principle of Yoga -” As much as you can and a little bit more.”

Now I wanted to consciously take some time to chalk out in what all areas of my life – I could compete with myself. What would it be like to play this game of competing with myself?  How sweet would be the taste of victory when I challenge the idea about what I think I can do and what I cannot do? About who I can be and who I cannot? About what I need and what I do not?

This gave birth to a time bound game. How about I take this game on to challenge myself in 3 areas of my life for 52  days (March 20th to May 12th 2008) leading to Gurudev’s 52nd   birthday.

One area is doing “Sadhana” for 52 days in a row without a gap – . “We do that every day”  – one might say. The game would be to take on that little bit more. That “little bit more” is where I would challenge myself. 

Let the game begin !

Jai Guru Dev

Entry filed under: Thus Spake... Tags: , , , .

Qts & Ans with the Master – Feb 13th 2008, Coimbatore India Q&A session at Coimbatore with Pujya Gurudev -13th Feb 2008 Part II

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janaki Pendleton  |  February 27, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    This is a fantastic idea. I shall definately pass it on to others !

    Reply
  • 2. shilpa kulkarni  |  February 28, 2008 at 1:02 am

    yes, i shall definately pass it on to others.

    Reply
  • 3. priya  |  February 28, 2008 at 11:14 am

    What an excellent idea……Challenging ourself is the most brilliant idea which helps us to get commited . We have started passing this information to others.

    Reply
  • 4. Sharmila  |  March 18, 2008 at 9:58 am

    Great Idea!!! How about 52 Sun salutations along with your Sadhana no stop 🙂 🙂 everyday or start with 1 on 20th and on May 13th finish with 52.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


