Buddha’s Farm

January 2, 2009 at 8:39 am 1 comment

Once a farmer asked the Buddha, “Why don’t you do something? I cultivate land while you simply sit under the tree with eyes closed, doing nothing. I have been watching you, people come to you, you talk to them and sometimes they silently sit by your side. Why don’t you do something?” 

 The poor farmer was naturally curious since he had been watching the Buddha under a tree, doing no work at all. 

 The Buddha replied, “Can’t you see I’m also a farmer? My farm is of a different quality and on a different plane. I grow the crop of bliss. I sow the seeds of bliss. The people who come around and sit silently, or to whom sometimes I talk—they are my work. I am sowing seeds in people’s consciousness of bliss. In the right season they will bloom. I’ve bloomed and cultivated my inner soil. Now my soul is full of flowers!”

Entry filed under: Thus Spake...

Message for 2009 – Gurudev in German Ashram Ten Commandments of Joy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Meena  |  February 21, 2009 at 12:19 am

    w’ful.. tx for sharing

    Jai Gurudev 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Feeds


